Honest Comparison

Read Thai vs Thai Alphabet Apps

Pick by what you need. Write It! Thai is best for handwriting and offline use, ReadThai.Fun is free, and Thai Reading is a native Apple app with a one-time price. Read Thai is the web course built on tone rules and 224 reading words, with modules 1–3 free, no card.

Try reading a Thai word in 60 seconds — free, no account →

Four other ways to learn the Thai script, checked against their own pages on 17 October 2026. Some beat Read Thai on price, handwriting or offline use, and this page says where.

See how Thai reading actually works

Sound out your first Thai word →

No account, no card — just the alphabet.

What each one costs

Prices as listed on 17 October 2026. They change; the source links are at the bottom.

AppPriceBest at
Read Thai (Jam Kham) Modules 1–3 free, no card, no trial timer. Lifetime $49 one-time, or subscribe from $9 every month. Tone rules and reading real words, in a browser on any device
Thai Reading | Alphabet & Tone Free download. In-app: $4.99/month, $30.49/year or $35.90 one-time A native Apple app with a one-time price and recorded native-speaker audio
Write It! Thai Free download. In-app full-version purchase listed at $4.99, $6.99 and $8.99 Learning to write the letters by hand, with stroke-by-stroke guidance and offline use
ReadThai.Fun Free A free way to learn the letters, with its own spaced-repetition schedule
Ling (Thai) Free plan with ads. Paid: $16.99/month, $64.99 for 6 months, $89.99 for 12 months (7-day trial on the yearly offer) Thai among many languages, with handwriting tracing and offline mode on the paid plan

What each one teaches

"Not stated" means the page we read does not say. The app may still do it.

Feature Read ThaiThai Reading | Alphabet & ToneWrite It! ThaiReadThai.FunLing (Thai)
Letters covered 44 consonants, 28 vowel forms, 4 tone marksConsonants, vowels, consonant classes, tones (20 steps)80 letters44 consonants and 32 vowelsNot stated
Tone rules taught Yes: consonant class, vowel length, final sound and tone mark, drilledYes: a dedicated tones stepNot statedA written article; no tone drills on that pageGrammar Notes cover tone rules
Reading real words 224 reading words, split into syllablesNot statedNot statedDictionary and a camera text readerNot stated
Handwriting practice NoNot statedYes: stroke-by-stroke with recognitionKeyboard writing practiceYes: tracing with recognition
Audio Slow and natural-speed recordingsNative-speaker recordingsNot statedYesNot stated
Works offline NoNot statedYesNot statedOn the paid plan
Where it runs Web, on any deviceiPhone, iPad, Mac, VisioniPhone, iPad, Mac, VisionWebsiteSee ling-app.com
Free part Modules 1–3, no cardStep explanations and some practiceFree downloadFree; a Pro account is mentionedFree plan with ads

See how Thai reading actually works

Seen enough? Try sounding out a Thai word yourself.

Sound out your first Thai word →

No account, no card — just the alphabet.

Where the others are better

Write It! Thai: handwriting, offline, cheap

Its listing promises "real handwriting recognition," stroke-by-stroke guidance and "full offline support," with full-version in-app purchases of $4.99 to $8.99. Read Thai trains reading, not writing, and needs a connection. If you want to write the letters by hand on a plane, buy this.

ReadThai.Fun: free

Its homepage lists spaced-repetition reviews, a placement test, a dictionary and a camera text reader, at no cost. If your budget is zero, it is a sound place to start. Read Thai's modules 1–3 are also free; the difference shows up after that, where Read Thai drills tone rules on 224 reading words.

Thai Reading | Alphabet & Tone: a native Apple app, lower one-time price

It is a native app with recordings by native speakers and a dedicated tones step, and its one-time purchase is $35.90, lower than Read Thai Lifetime. It runs on iPhone, iPad, Mac (Apple silicon) and Vision, while Read Thai runs in a browser on any device. This app was previously listed as "Read Thai: Alphabet & Tones", which is easy to confuse with Read Thai from Jam Kham: they are different products from different makers.

Ling: many languages in one app

Ling covers Thai alongside other languages, adds handwriting tracing and lists offline mode on its paid plan. Its Grammar Notes cover consonant classes and tone rules. If you study several languages, one subscription covers them.

What Read Thai adds

  • 45 lessons. 44 consonants, 28 vowel forms and all 4 tone marks, in an order built around consonant class.
  • Tones as rules. Every card shows consonant class, vowel length, final sound and tone mark, so you predict the tone instead of guessing.
  • 224 reading words split into syllables, so the letters turn into words you can read.
  • Slow and natural-speed audio for the course.
  • Web on any device. No install. Modules 1–3 are free with no card and no trial timer.

What it does not do: handwriting practice, offline use, pronunciation feedback. Lifetime is $49 once, which is more than some of the apps above. If a lower price or handwriting is what you need, the table shows where to go.

Common questions

What is the best app to learn the Thai alphabet?

It depends on what you want. Write It! Thai teaches handwriting with stroke-by-stroke guidance and works offline. ReadThai.Fun is free. Thai Reading | Alphabet & Tone is a native Apple app with a one-time purchase. Read Thai is a web course built around tone rules and reading real words, with modules 1–3 free and no card.

Is there a free app to learn Thai letters?

Yes. ReadThai.Fun describes itself as a free interactive platform for the Thai script, and Write It! Thai and Thai Reading | Alphabet & Tone are free to download with paid upgrades. Read Thai's first three modules are free with no card and no trial timer.

Is there a one-time payment Thai alphabet course?

Two. Thai Reading | Alphabet & Tone lists a $35.90 one-time purchase on the App Store, and Read Thai sells one-time Lifetime access for $49. Ling's pricing page lists subscriptions only.

Why does Read Thai cost more than some alphabet apps?

Some alphabet apps cost less, and Write It! Thai costs far less. Read Thai includes 45 lessons, 224 reading words, tone-rule drills and slow plus natural-speed audio, and runs in a browser on any device. If you only want to practise handwriting, a cheaper app fits better. Try modules 1–3 free before you decide.

Can I learn Thai tones from an alphabet app?

Some teach them. Thai Reading | Alphabet & Tone has a dedicated tones step, and Ling's Grammar Notes cover tone rules. Write It! Thai's listing does not mention tones. Read Thai teaches tones as rules (consonant class, vowel length, final sound, tone mark) and drills them on real words.

Does Read Thai work offline or teach handwriting?

No to both. Read Thai runs in your browser and trains reading, not handwriting. Write It! Thai is built for handwriting and lists full offline support.

Sources

Each statement about another app comes from its own page, read on 17 October 2026.

  • Thai Reading | Alphabet & Tone: The App Store lists it as a free download with in-app purchases of $4.99 monthly, $30.49 yearly and $35.90 one-time (source, checked 2026-10-17)
  • Thai Reading | Alphabet & Tone: The listing describes 20 steps covering consonants (by class), vowels, consonant classes, tones (STEP12) and exceptions (source, checked 2026-10-17)
  • Thai Reading | Alphabet & Tone: The listing says "All words are recorded by native speakers" and "No AI voices here!" (source, checked 2026-10-17)
  • Thai Reading | Alphabet & Tone: The listing says all step explanations are free, some practice exercises are free and others need a subscription (source, checked 2026-10-17)
  • Thai Reading | Alphabet & Tone: The App Store lists it for iPhone, iPad, Mac (macOS 13 or later, Apple M1 chip or later) and Apple Vision, with no Android or web version listed (source, checked 2026-10-17)
  • Write It! Thai: The App Store lists it as a free download with a full-version in-app purchase listed at $4.99, $6.99 and $8.99 (source, checked 2026-10-17)
  • Write It! Thai: The listing says it teaches "all 80 letters of the Thai script alphabet" with "real handwriting recognition technology" (source, checked 2026-10-17)
  • Write It! Thai: The listing describes a practice mode with stroke-by-stroke guidance and a timed test mode (source, checked 2026-10-17)
  • Write It! Thai: The listing states "Full offline support" (source, checked 2026-10-17)
  • Write It! Thai: The listing's feature list does not mention tones, consonant classes or reading whole words (source, checked 2026-10-17)
  • ReadThai.Fun: The homepage calls it "a free interactive Thai language learning platform" and offers sign-in to sync progress (source, checked 2026-10-17)
  • ReadThai.Fun: The homepage says it will help you master "all 44 Thai consonants and 32 vowels" (source, checked 2026-10-17)
  • ReadThai.Fun: The homepage lists audio and phonetic guides for each character, spaced-repetition reviews at 1, 3, 7 and 21 days, a placement test, keyboard writing practice, a dictionary and a camera-based text reader (source, checked 2026-10-17)
  • ReadThai.Fun: Its tones article is a written guide listing the five tones and common mistakes; the page has no tone exercises of its own (source, checked 2026-10-17)
  • ReadThai.Fun: A "Free Pro Account" post offers a Pro account at no cost in exchange for feedback on the web app, without saying what Pro adds (source, checked 2026-10-17)
  • Ling (Thai): The pricing page shows a free plan (limited lessons, limited dialog practice, ads) and paid plans of $16.99 for 1 month, $64.99 for 6 months and $89.99 for 12 months ($149.99 also shown on the page), with a 7-day free trial; it lists no lifetime plan (source, checked 2026-10-17)
  • Ling (Thai): Ling's alphabet guide says its Writing Lesson has "canvas-based character tracing and handwriting recognition" with real-time accuracy feedback (source, checked 2026-10-17)
  • Ling (Thai): The same guide says its 164 Grammar Notes for Thai "cover consonant classes, tone rules, and reading patterns" (source, checked 2026-10-17)
  • Ling (Thai): The same guide says grammar notes and offline mode require Ling Pro at $89.99 per year (source, checked 2026-10-17)

Try it before you compare any further

Start the free Read Thai course. Modules 1–3, no credit card.

More comparisons →

Sound out your first Thai word → Start free